NISIDOTAM: UNDERSTANDING DISABILITY TOGETHER!

In 2017, the FNHRDCQ conducted a study with employability agents in First Nations communities. They reported that the needs of people with disabilities are not yet well understood. Furthermore, they felt the need to be better equipped to provide appropriate support services. The FNHRDCQ and the Research Centre for the inclusion of people with disabilities (CRISPESH) have therefore sought to better understand what it is like to live with a disability in communities, as well as some of the resilience-enabling factors or challenging barriers for people with disabilities.

Our collaboration has allowed us to uncover two widely held misbeliefs regarding disability. The first is that disability is only a visible and mostly physical condition. According to the second, people with disability cannot work or live independently. This lack of awareness has many negative repercussions for persons with disabilities, their families, and their communities.

Therefore, the FNHRDCQ is committed to achieving three objectives:

  • Raise awareness and promote self-determination and advocacy of persons with disabilities;

  • inform the employment and training agents, so that they feel more comfortable and confident when accompanying a client with a disability;

  • develop tools and resources to facilitate workplace integration and retention of people with disabilities.

Nisidotam_Logo_Couleur_CMJN_jpeg_Fondbla
Skills Link Program: Three Young People Share their Experience
210331_visuel tanya.jpg

As part of the Skills Link program, three young First Nations people with disabilities participated in the organization of an awareness campaign to bring about behavioural changes towards disabilities. Inspired by their own experience, they showed leadership as they developed the following tools:

  • a poster and pamphlets on self-representation;

  • personal and video testimonials “Voices of the community”;

  • a logo and visual identity;

  • promotional items.

INDIGENOUS WOMEN AND NON-TRADITIONAL OCCUPATIONS

In 2016, the FNHRDCQ focused on the Indigenous female workforce, and more specifically on the place of Indigenous women in non-traditional occupations. It carried out a survey among these women clients of the four FNHRDCQ urban service centres in Montreal, Quebec City, Sept-Îles, and Val-d’Or.

 

The survey revealed that the proportion of Indigenous women in non-traditional occupations is very low compared to Quebec statistics. It also highlighted the presence of persistent personal and systemic barriers that prevent women from accessing training and integrating a non-traditional occupation. Three of the key barriers identified consist of low awareness of non-traditional occupations by Indigenous women, the strong perception of racism, and discrimination felt by women.

 

Considering these findings, the FNHRDCQ intervenes by improving access to training and integration into non-traditional occupations of Indigenous women, by addressing the systemic barriers and collaborating with partners to support these women’s efforts.

 

This inclusive intervention must necessarily involve, in addition to Indigenous women and the employment and training service centres, two other stakeholders, namely the businesses (“employers”) and educational institutions in non-traditional occupations.

 

With this in mind, we conducted a series of consultations with the three target groups with the purpose of producing a toolkit for them. 

women.png
  • Facebook
  • LinkedIn
  • YouTube

NISIDOTAM : COMPRENONS LE HANDICAP!

En 2017, la CDRHPNQ a mené une étude auprès des agents en employabilité dans les communautés des Premières Nations. Ceux-ci ont témoigné du fait que les besoins des personnes en situation de handicap (PSH) ne sont pas encore bien compris. De plus, ils ressentaient le besoin d’être mieux outillés pour offrir des services de soutien appropriés. La CDRHPNQ s’est donc associée avec le Centre de recherche pour l’inclusion de personnes en situation de handicap (CRISPESH) afin de mieux comprendre ce que signifient vivre avec un handicap ainsi que les facteurs favorisant la résilience ou les obstacles créant des défis pour les PSH.

 

Notre collaboration nous a notamment permis de réaliser que deux mythes sont largement répandus. Le premier est que le handicap est seulement un état visible et principalement physique. Le second véhicule l'idée qu’une personne en situation de handicap ne peut pas travailler ou vivre de manière indépendante. Cette méconnaissance a de nombreuses répercussions négatives pour la personne en situation de handicap, sa famille et sa communauté.

 

La CDRHPNQ s’est donc engagée à réaliser trois objectifs :

  •  Sensibiliser et valoriser l’autodétermination et l’autoreprésentation des personnes en situation de handicap;

  • informer les agents en emploi et formation afin qu’ils se sentent plus à l’aise et confiants lorsqu’ils accompagnent un(e) client(e) en situation de handicap;

  • développer des outils et des ressources pour faciliter l’intégration et le maintien en emploi des PSH.

Nisidotam_Logo_Couleur_CMJN_jpeg_Fondbla
Programme Connexion compétences : l’expérience de trois jeunes
210331_visuel tanya.jpg

Dans le cadre du programme Connexion compétences, trois jeunes en situation de handicap issus des Premières Nations ont participé à l’organisation d’une campagne de sensibilisation visant à susciter un changement de comportement envers le handicap. À partir de leurs propres expériences, ces jeunes ont fait preuve de leadership dans le développement des outils suivants :

  • une affiche et des dépliants sur l’autoreprésentation;

  • des témoignages personnels et vidéo « Voix des communautés »;

  • un logo et une identité visuelle;

  • des objets promotionnels.

LES FEMMES AUTOCHTONES DANS LES MÉTIERS NON-TRADITIONNELS

En 2016, la CDRHPNQ s’est intéressée à la place qu’occupent les femmes autochtones dans les métiers non traditionnels. Elle a alors réalisé une enquête auprès de ces femmes clientes des quatre centres de service urbains de la CDRHPNQ à Montréal, Québec, Sept-Îles et Val-d’Or.

 

L’enquête a révélé que la proportion de femmes autochtones dans les métiers non traditionnels est très faible comparativement aux statistiques du Québec. Elle a également mis en lumière la présence d'obstacles personnels et systémiques persistants qui empêchent les femmes d’accéder à de la formation et d’intégrer un métier non traditionnel. Trois des principaux obstacles cernés sont la faible connaissance des métiers non traditionnels par les femmes autochtones, la forte perception de racisme et la discrimination ressentie par les femmes.

 

À la lumière de ces constats, la CDRHPNQ intervient en facilitant aux femmes autochtones l’accès à la formation et l’intégration aux métiers non traditionnels, en s’attaquant aux obstacles systémiques et en collaborant avec des partenaires pour appuyer les efforts des femmes.

 

Cette intervention inclusive doit nécessairement impliquer, outre les femmes autochtones et les centres de service en emploi et formation, les deux autres parties prenantes concernées, soit les entreprises (« employeurs ») et les institutions de formation dans les métiers non traditionnels.

 

C’est dans cette optique que nous avons mené une série de consultations auprès de ces trois groupes cibles. Celles-ci visaient principalement la production d'une trousse à outils à leur intention.

  • Facebook
  • LinkedIn
  • YouTube